Kale salad with preserved lemon + toasted panko

20120421-183751.jpg
One of my favourite restaurants in Calgary is Una Pizza + Wine. Steph introduced it to me and we try to go there when I’m home. The last time we were there we had the kale salad with pecorino romano, lemon vinaigrette and toasted panko crumbs. It. Was. To. Die. For. Literally, it is now on my death row list of foods I want to eat. Along with my Mom’s mashed potatoes, Italian Kitchen Trattoria’s brussels sprouts (with lemon, capers, parmigiano reggiano), Steph’s toasted coconut cream pie (hint hint), my Gramma Frankie’s homemade bread, my Grandpa Peel’s roasted potatoes and my Grandpa Vockeroth’s rhubarb raspberry pie. What’s on your list of foods to eat before you die? -bvox

20120421-183806.jpg
I tried to replicate the recipe at home, and while really good, I’m still looking to master it. If Una wants to share their recipe I’d be absolutely delighted. Here’s my version of it.

Kale salad with preserved lemon + toasted panko crumbs
Inspired by Una Pizza + Wine

1 bunch kale, torn into bite size pieces
1/2 cup toasted panko crumbs (in 300 F oven until slightly golden, 5 min)
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
Mix below ingredients together for vinaigrette:
1/2 preserved lemon, peel only
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp dijon mustard
Red chili flakes
Salt and pepper to taste

Add vinaigrette to kale and mix well. Top with cheese and panko, mix lightly and garnish with more.

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Kale salad with preserved lemon + toasted panko

  1. Alicia April 22, 2012 at 11:31 am Reply

    Ok, one more reason why I need to make preserved lemons! I keep meaning to and really want to try them. I love kale/lemon salads, and this one looks amazing!

  2. Steph McVox April 24, 2012 at 8:03 am Reply

    My last meal would be your pasta gnudi, Sig’s prime rib with Gramma’s yorkshire pudding, Una’s patatas bravas, and Mom’s bumbleberry pie (wih cherries).

  3. auntcate May 8, 2012 at 5:25 pm Reply

    Had this for supper last night and this will be one we will have often, I loved it!!!! And so easy to make, had never tasted Kale before and now it’s something I will be introducing regularly.

    • Shiny Tomato May 8, 2012 at 9:47 pm Reply

      I know, life altering isn’t it! The kale chips kick ass too. I have some on hand and am going to make some tomorrow. Thinking a sprinkle of Silk Road spices will be good too. XXOO

Leave a tasty comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

