Herbed Yogurt Cheese with Preserved Lemons

20120212-195955.jpgI’ve been meaning to make “yogurt cheese ” for some time now. I was looking for low fat alternatives to sour cream and mayo in an effort to lose some of the post-Christmas shortbread poundage that has been padding my ass. I love my condiments and consider them a food group (a Vockeroth trait), particular anything with dairy. And I love mayo.

Yogurt cheese is ridiculously easy to make and you can just about add anything to it; sweet or savoury. The first time I made it, I added Greek spice mix from Silk Road Spice Merchants  and dolloped it on roasted potatoes, soups, and quesadillas. It can also be used on or as dips, dressings, sandwich spreads, pasta sauces — and, as my sister pointed out, it’s also good in tzatziki. She calls it Greek yogurt 🙂

It would also be good with honey and rose water on top of roasted or grilled fruit. A nice light dessert.

Herbed Yogurt Cheese with Preserved Lemons
Line a strainer with cheesecloth and place the strainer over a bowl, to catch the excess liquid that will drain out of the yogurt. Scoop plain yogurt, I used 2%, into the strainer and strain in the fridge overnight. Add any flavours you like. For this recipe I added chopped rosemary and thyme, fresh and roasted garlic, lemon zest, minced preserved lemon peel, salt and pepper and red chili flakes. Stir until well combined.

Next time I’m going to mix in chipotle peppers and lime juice to kick chili or fajitas up a notch.

20120212-200103.jpg

20120212-200117.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a tasty comment

