Mon’s Gone Bananas Bread

20120218-123956.jpg

Banana Bread with Earl Grey Tea, Hycroft Plaidware, Family Silver

My freezer seems to generate a massive amount of brown frozen bananas on its own. It’s a rainy Saturday morning *understatement* and I needed something to tear me away from the couch and the Food Network. So I decided to bake some banana bread. I also needed a way to thank my hubby, for I am dragging him downtown to help me lug around some stuff for work. Did I mention it’s raining really hard and it’s a Saturday? Hopefully this will earn me some banana bread points. Banana bread is his absolute favourite and he’s feeling the love. Four big pieces of love.

I got this recipe from Mon, who got it from the Best of Bridge ladies. The Dishes threw a baby shower for Mon’s first baby (of three!) and to thank us, we each got a lovely loaf of this bread. It was THE best banana bread I had ever tasted. Steph put the recipe on a card for me, dubbed it “Mon’s Gone Bananas Bread” and it’s used often. The smell filled the house and was driving us both nuts. Speaking of nuts, you could add a cup of chopped nuts of your choice, or chocolate chips. My hubby prefers it in it’s natural state. I do like to spice it up a bit and add cinnamon, poudre douce and Steph’s homemade Lincoln Drive vanilla. Between Mon (Cayenne Pepper), Steph (Nutty Meg), and my hubby (Cinnamon), there is a lot of love in these two loaves.

Mon’s Gone Bananas Bread
Source: Best of Bridge

1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
3 cups mashed ripe bananas (roughly 6 bananas)
4 eggs, well beaten
2 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp nutmeg
Optional: 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon, poudre douce, and vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 f. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add bananas and eggs and beat until well mixed. Mix dry ingredients and blend with banana mixture, but do not overmix. Pour into 2 lightly greased loaf pans or a bundt pan. Bake 55 minutes to 1 hour: test for doneness (toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean) and cool on rack for 10 minutes before removing from pans. Freezes beautifully. It tastes even better with a cup of creamy earl grey tea.

20120218-123916.jpg

20120218-123934.jpg

20120218-123944.jpg

20120218-124014.jpg

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Mon’s Gone Bananas Bread

  1. Monique Britten February 19, 2012 at 10:40 pm Reply

    Bon, I am so honoured (and now famous)! I love this recipe as it makes two loaves and freezes really well. The pictures are wick and so are you! Love, Mon

    • Shiny Tomato February 22, 2012 at 8:35 pm Reply

      XXOO, shoulda added a pinch of cayenne pepper!

  2. salty girl February 22, 2012 at 7:02 am Reply

    Lovin’ the pictures Bonnie! And I love the Hycroft plaidware – it reminds me of the dishes my grandma had… 🙂

    • Shiny Tomato February 22, 2012 at 8:34 pm Reply

      Salt, the integral spice. It’s in everything I make. XX

Leave a tasty comment

