Mushroom, Potato and Fontina Frittata

20120222-195300.jpg
I felt like going out for dinner again tonight (3X already this week!), but had some stuff in the fridge that I wanted to use up. I’m leaving hubby behind for a girls weekend in Seattle in a couple of days, and let’s just say I’m the one who cooks in our house. Although hubby does a fine job getting the cats their dinner. And takes me out for dinner. A lot.

I love making frittatas for many reasons: it’s easy, it’s quick, it’s adaptable, it’s reasonably healthy, and it makes a damn fine lunch the next day. I usually have the basic ingredients for one in my fridge, along with leftovers and bits to add. My frittatas take many shapes and tastes. I make them for breakfast on the weekends and sometimes for dinner too. When I make it for dinner, hubby calls it “breakfast supper”. We always disagree whether it’s supper vs. dinner, so we have both in our house. I just realized that it’s also something that I never make following a recipe.

20120222-195329.jpg

Here is the general gist of how I make them:

Mushroom, Potato and Fontina Frittata

1-2 Tbsp butter or oil for pan
1 cup sliced crimini mushrooms
1 cup cooked potatoes (or you can cook them in pan first)
6-7 eggs (or just use what you have)
3-4 tbsp milk, cream, sour cream, whatever you have on hand
A few dashes of hot sauce (I used Sriracha)
Salt and Pepper
Red chili flakes
2 Tbsp thyme leaves
1 1/2 cup shredded fontina cheese
1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400 fahrenheit. Heat skillet on low, add oil or butter (or a combination). When heated, add mushrooms and cook until browned, seasoning with salt, pepper, chili flakes and thyme sprigs. A splash of sherry doesn’t hurt either. When cooked remove springs and add potatoes.

Meanwhile, whisk, eggs, milk, 1/2 of cheese, hot sauce, s&p together. Poor egg mixture into the skillet and cook on low heat until slightly set, about 5 mins. Add the remaining thyme leaves and cheese, and bake in oven for 20 minutes.

Mix it up I say! Let me know what you like to add to your frittatas. I like to have it with mixed greens lightly dressed with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.

20120222-195408.jpg

20120222-195425.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Mushroom, Potato and Fontina Frittata

  1. Monique Britten February 23, 2012 at 7:36 am Reply

    Yowsers. Looks amazing.

  2. Steph McVox February 23, 2012 at 9:59 am Reply

    Can you make me a fritatta next time you come to Calgary?

    • Shiny Tomato February 23, 2012 at 10:18 am Reply

      I sure can! I should have made one when you came to Vancouver!

  3. Kim Shepherd February 23, 2012 at 12:04 pm Reply

    Miss Bon, I do believe you are inspiring me to cook!

    • Shiny Tomato February 23, 2012 at 2:38 pm Reply

      I would LOVE the recipe for those Portuguese Potatoes you make! Get in that kitchen and rattle those pots and pans, Girl!

  4. auntcate February 23, 2012 at 9:46 pm Reply

    Bon, this is great with a smoky cheese and you are the one that turned me on to the smoky flavor with your salts!

Leave a tasty comment

