Shhh…..early morning Banana Muffins

20120303-142402.jpg
Ever notice you make the most noise when you’re trying to be quiet? My old cat decided to wake me up at 6 am on a Saturday. Don and Mel are in Vancouver for the golf show and staying with us and the whole house was still sleeping (except for me and said cat). I decided to bake banana muffins for breakfast and also something they could take and nibble on down at the convention centre. Hot dogs are good and all, but…

Making these reminded me of when Brandy stayed (Salty Girl) with us a few years ago. When I woke up I smelled something baking. When I made my way to the kitchen, in my jammies around 8 am, she was taking these very same banana muffins out of the oven. Fully dressed, showered, and with makeup on no less. I was amazed. This is also what hubby saw. Not a typical sight in our house! It was heaven. Getting up and baking something when visiting friends is Brandy’s signature. I was impressed she found everything and that I had everything. This easy recipe is from the Grazing cookbook by Julie van Rosendaal. It’s the same cookbook Brandy gave me as a gift the previous time she was in Vancouver. I use it all the time. -BVox

Early Morning Banana Muffins
Source: Grazing

1/4 cup butter
3/4 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (roughly 3 bananas)
2 eggs, well beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup plain yogurt or buttermilk
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
Optional: 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon, poudre douce, nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 f. Cream butter and sugar until mixture resembles wet sand. Add bananas, eggs, buttermilk, vanilla and beat until well mixed. Mix dry ingredients and blend with banana mixture, but do not overmix. Put batter into muffin pan, lightly sprayed with cooking spray (12). Bake 20-25 minutes, test for doneness (toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean) and cool on rack for 10 minutes before removing from pans. Feel free to add chopped nuts or chocolate chips.

20120303-142440.jpg

20120303-142431.jpg

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Shhh…..early morning Banana Muffins

  1. Salty girl March 3, 2012 at 4:51 pm Reply

    Yay! I’m mentioned on the shiny tomato! This is my absolute favourite banana muffin recipe that I make almost every weekend to use up bananas. I use canola oil instead of butter to make it even easier. I often have two little dudes beside me making them with me…

Leave a tasty comment

