Roasted Parsnips with Rosemary and Preserved Lemon Peel

20120312-192312.jpg

My Dad was with me in the kitchen tonight. He loved parsnips and now I do too. It used to be the one thing I didn’t like, and duh, they’re the bomb! Because of their unique, subtlety spicy, sweet flavour, I like to marry earthy flavours with them. Sage would be good too. My aunt Cate likes them roasted with curry paste. And I made a horseradish dipping sauce to dunk these in, something Dad would have liked. Oh, and thanks to Robbin who introduced me to Beaver brand horseradish. If anyone is going to the US, pick some up for us!

20120312-192455.jpg

Roasted Parsnips with Rosemary and Preserved Lemon Peel

1-1/2 lb parsnips
2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 tbsp chopped rosemary
1/2 preserved lemon, pith and flesh removed, julienned
1/4 tsp (1 mL) salt
Pinch pepper
Pinch red chili flakes

Preheat oven to 425°F. Peel and cut parsnips into about 1-1/2-inch thick sticks. Transfer to large bowl; toss with oil, salt and pepper, preserved lemon peel, and chili flakes. Roast on baking sheet in oven for about 20 minutes or until tender and golden at edges, stirring halfway through.

20120312-192608.jpg

20120312-192628.jpg

20120312-192643.jpg

A spot of tea in a mug from Dad helped the cook

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Roasted Parsnips with Rosemary and Preserved Lemon Peel

  1. jody March 12, 2012 at 8:10 pm Reply

    Hey thanks! Thanks for the inspiration and renewed interest in parsnip. Just rec’d a pound of em in our hamper tonite. We looked at one another with a “ho-hum”. Now we have a gameplan for tomorrow. Keep it comin Vockeroth!! XO

  2. Shiny Tomato March 12, 2012 at 8:14 pm Reply

    Jod! The core was a bit chewy, but Janzy called them “damn good” and he doesn’t like parsnips or horseradish. I wish he would stop taking the lords name in vain 🙂

  3. Salty girl March 13, 2012 at 6:58 am Reply

    I’m with Janzy – don’t like parsnips or horseradish. Maybe I’ll try them if you or Jody make them for me! 🙂

  4. Lucy March 13, 2012 at 7:19 am Reply

    Baabyyyy, Ima gonna try some of these. Definitely could use some shiny in ma kitchen! Love your blog!

    • Shiny Tomato March 13, 2012 at 9:22 pm Reply

      Thanks Lucy, XXOO and thanks for introducing this prairie girl to Vietnamese and Japanese food. I owe you!

  5. Mon March 13, 2012 at 12:13 pm Reply

    Bon, love this post! The spot of tea must ahve been just the ticket. Those parsnips look yummy! And healthy…

  6. Shiny Tomato March 13, 2012 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Thanks Mon! Yeah, I think they are good or you to boot…

  7. Steph McVox March 15, 2012 at 9:44 am Reply

    Don’t forget about your Maple Glazed parsnips or is that root vegetables that have parsnips in them? I thought I didn’t like parsnips until I had that – now I love ’em!

Leave a tasty comment

