Kale chips, granola oh my!

20120319-210331.jpg
I have become a Vancouver cliche! I’ve been wanting to try making kale chips for some time now. I’ve heard over and over how addictive they are. Let’s just say hubby and I polished off two bunches of these kale chips in one go (not bad with Guiness, still on the Irish theme). When roasted in the oven they become crispy and rich with that nutty flavour that happens to broccoli, cauliflower and other members of the brassica family.

If you’re craving some salty chips, these do the job. Seriously. Even hubby mowed them down and he looked really skeptical when I set the plate down. In all fairness, I did ask him if he wanted some “chips”. Side note: last week I did see a girl walking around in Kits munching on a bunch on raw kale. At least I cooked mine. -Bvox

Krispy Kale Chips
1 bunch kale
1-2 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste (flavoured salts would be good)
A few shakes of red chili flakes

Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. With a knife or kitchen shears carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite size pieces. Wash and dry kale thoroughly with a salad spinner. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, chili flakes and any other seasonings you like. Then, get in there and scrunch the leaves with your hands. Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, about 15-20 minutes.

20120319-210440.jpg

20120319-210502.jpg
Where is the Granola you ask? It’s cooling right now and I’ll post that one tomorrow.

20120319-210601.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Kale chips, granola oh my!

  1. hungrycupcakes March 19, 2012 at 10:00 pm Reply

    OMG just made kale chips… SO delish! Who woulda thought?

    • Shiny Tomato March 20, 2012 at 10:19 am Reply

      I know! They would be good on risotto, for a but of crunch too.

  2. Steph McVox March 20, 2012 at 8:52 am Reply

    How are the kale chips the day after they are made?

  3. Salty girl March 20, 2012 at 8:52 am Reply

    I’ve been wanting to make some too! This will get my butt in gear!

Leave a tasty comment

