Homemade Almond Cranberry Granola

20120320-211523.jpg
This recipe is based on rebar’s granola recipe, a very versatile recipe. I’ve adapted it based on what I typically have in my pantry. I like to mix up the gains, fruits and nuts. Pumpkin and sunflower seeds are a tasty addition too. The first time I had homemade granola was when Mon brought it to a Dish brunch. It was still warm and man was that good! I like to have this on hand when we have house guests and serve it with yogurt and fruit. It looks like I went to a lot of effort, but it’s so easy. I think missed my calling as a B and B owner. Disclosure: I over cooked this batch a bit as I was distracted writing my kale chips post :-/. It’s a bit darker than usual but still tasty. – bvox

20120320-211618.jpg
Almond Cranberry Granola
4 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup sesame seeds
2 cups raw almonds, chopped
1 cup coconut flakes
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup honey or maple syrup, or a combo
1/2 cup canola or sunflower oil
1/4 cup water
1 tsp vanilla

Arrange oven racks in top and bottom third of oven. Preheat oven to 310° F. Combine the dry ingredients (except dried fruit) in a large bowl. Combine the wet ingredients in a small bowl then add to the dry ingredients and mix well.

20120320-211726.jpg
Spread granola evenly on two baking sheets and bake for 30 minutes, turning over half-way through baking. While the granola is still warm, sprinkle dried fruit evenly over granola then leave on tray to cool completely. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

20120320-211907.jpg

20120320-211915.jpg

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Homemade Almond Cranberry Granola

  1. Cate March 21, 2012 at 6:36 am Reply

    Bon had this on hand when her Mom and I were there for a visit last time, it was wonderful!!!!! I don’t usually like granola but this had me trying it and loving it, thank you for the recipe Bon it will be something found at my house now.

  2. Steph McVox March 21, 2012 at 7:27 am Reply

    Your B&B should be called Chez Janzeroth

  3. Mon March 21, 2012 at 7:41 am Reply

    Yum-O! Ahhh Rebar, how I miss thee.

Leave a tasty comment

