Rhubarb Raspberry Oat Squares


This summery update on the classic date square was inspired by my Grandpa Vockeroth. He made the best rhubarb-raspberry pie and I can’t think of this tangy-sweet filling without thinking of him. He was a kind man and spoiled his granddaughters with cookies and pies. I can still see him sitting in his kitchen in Rossland. I had some leftover stewed rhubarb from my rhubarb cocktails that I wanted to use it up and my hubby loves anything with oats. You could use fresh raspberries, but I had jam on hand. If fresh rhubarb is unavailable, measure the same amount of frozen rhubarb, then thaw and drain. This easy dessert washes down perfectly with a cup of coffee. -bvox

Rhubarb Raspberry Oat Squares

Base and topping
1 3/4 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. poudre douce
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix all ingredients together, then add melted butter and stir until crumbly. Press half of the base mixture in the bottom of a 8 x 8 cake pan. I like to use the pestle from my mortar and pestle to press the bottom evenly and firmly.

Filling
Blend together:
1 cup stewed rhubarb
1 cup raspberry jam

Put raspberry-rhubarb filling on top, then crumble the remainder of mixture on top of the date filling and press slightly. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden and bubbly around edges. Allow to cool before cutting into squares.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Rhubarb Raspberry Oat Squares

  1. julia christine stephen May 19, 2012 at 11:16 am Reply

    I liked your slow cooker baked beans too, so I decided to just follow your blog, that way I can get all your recipes 🙂

    • julia christine stephen May 19, 2012 at 11:21 am Reply

      sorry…I actually grew up in Montreal…but I don’t know what is poudre douce…cause I speak french and I think that translates to soft powder?

      • Shiny Tomato May 20, 2012 at 9:44 am

        That’s right, soft powder….it’s a French baking spice with cardamom, nutmeg, cinnamon I believe. We’ve only been able to find it online via that above link. I adore it!

      • julia christine stephen May 20, 2012 at 9:53 am

        thank you!

      • Shiny Tomato May 20, 2012 at 3:08 pm

        I did a bit of snooping… apparently it means sweet powder and here is what it’s comprised of
        5 parts ground cinnamon
        3 parts ground ginger
        2 parts ground nutmeg
        1 part ground cloves

      • julia christine stephen May 20, 2012 at 6:09 pm

        thanks

    • Shiny Tomato May 20, 2012 at 9:44 am Reply

      Thanks for the follow!

  2. Steph McVox May 24, 2012 at 7:14 am Reply

    Your Plaidware looks beautiful!

Leave a tasty comment

