White Bean Sundried Tomato Hummous


I heart hummous. I know that’s a really nerdy thing to say but I stand by it. It’s such a versatile dip. I used what I had on hand for this recipe, which consists of white beans, sundried tomatoes and preserved lemon. I was aghast when I realized I didn’t have fresh lemon lemon juice to squirt into this. I did have preserved lemon peel and used a splash of white wine vinegar for acidity. I’ve been dunking and schmearing a lot of things with this hummous. It went on crackers, sandwiches and had fresh veggies and pita chips dunked into it. It’s a nice flavour switch up. Ren (also known as Punkin) probably turned me on most to homemade hummous. She makes a darn good one and it took some hounding on my part for her to relinquish her secret ingredient. Hot sauce! So you have it. -bvox

White Bean Sundried Tomato Hummous
1 can white beans, rinsed and drained
2 cloves garlic
1/2 preserved lemon, peel only
A few pieces of sundried tomato (either re-hydrated in boiling water or packed in oil)
1 Tbsp white wine vinegar or lemon juice
1 Tbsp tahini or almond butter
A few dashes of hot sauce (I used sriracha)
Salt and pepper to taste
2-3 Tbsp olive oil

Blend all ingredients except olive oil in a blender or food processor. While food processor is running, add olive oil in a stream until smooth and you have your desired consistency. Taste and adjust seasonings. Scoop into a serving bowl and garnish with olive oil and smoked paprika. Devour.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “White Bean Sundried Tomato Hummous

  1. Alicia June 7, 2012 at 10:16 pm Reply

    This looks so good. I love hummus too. I know it is so easy to make, but there is a local company called King Harvest, that makes really yummy stuff. That makes it hard to want to make my own. I always get the sundried tomato hummus too! But this recipe makes me want to make my own, especially since I have preserved lemons. …maybe I will

    • Shiny Tomato June 8, 2012 at 7:16 am Reply

      We have a local company too, Habibis…my go-to hummous.

  2. eener June 7, 2012 at 11:28 pm Reply

    Nice one, Nobs! You make a good dip!!! It’s also scrumptious with roasted red pepper, but I always make sure there’s cumin in there too!

    • Shiny Tomato June 8, 2012 at 7:15 am Reply

      More secrets shared 🙂 I also love your carrot cumin dip…

  3. Jar Of Salt June 8, 2012 at 12:18 am Reply

    Another awesome recipe for me to try. Bookmarking this and am definitely trying it. Love homemade hummus and I love sun-dried tomatoes. So this is perfect! 🙂

Leave a tasty comment

