Roasted Balsamic Strawberry Sauce

roasted strawberry sauce
Below is a recipe–and a post–from my mom for roasted strawberries. She too loves cooking and isn’t afraid to adapt recipes to her tastes. She also makes a wicked pie, which is interesting because she says she doesn’t really like pie. Her crusts are tender, flaky and works of art (picture below). She cuts out lovely little shapes from the left-over dough to decorate the top of her pies. She makes a juicy concord grape pie and cuts out tiny grapes and decorates the top so that it looks like a perfect little cluster of grapes – leaves and all. The one and only time I made a pie (with rolled dough) I called her because it didn’t look too pretty. She  advised me to decorate my mistakes with leaves and strawberry-shaped cut-outs. Sure wish I had a picture. Recently I picked up some strawberries from the Vancouver Farmer’s Market and gave it a try. It. was. delicious. My hubby said it tasted just like a Dairy Queen sundae (his form of flattery), but I’d like to do a side-by-side taste test to prove it’s nothing like that. Enough about me. Below is the email my mom sent her daughters. -bvox

I saw a recipe in Martha Stewart magazine (well it wasn’t really a recipe)…just telling what to do with surplus fruit….anywhoooo – I digress. Here it is and I have made it twice and love it. It wasn’t in the directions but after an hour I mixed in several tablespoons of balsamic vinegar (‘cause I like the taste of strawberries and balsamic vinegar). It tastes great – I used it in yogurt – and Wayne on ice cream, however it would be a great base for strawberry/rhubarb pie which I shall try. -Mom Dish

Roasted Balsamic Strawberry Sauce
Adapted from Martha Stewart

• Preheat oven to 350 F.

• Wash and dry strawberries – keep whole, remove stem

• Lay out in single layer on a 9 x 14 pan

• Drip about 5 tablespoons of honey over and gently mix up so all are covered

• Bake until syrup begins to thicken and strawberries turn deep red and shrink slightly, about 1 hour

• After 1 hour, add 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and bake another 45 minutes

The juice will thicken up as the mixture cools after cooking (actually like a thick, thick syrup).

Easy peasy and tastes great!!

And a picture of my Mom’s blueberry pie:

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Roasted Balsamic Strawberry Sauce

  1. Leslie June 12, 2012 at 7:41 am Reply

    Hi Hon – happy you tried this…am looking for some more strawberries on sale and will make more however I will have to do this immediately since Wayne will devour them all as soon as we get them!!

  2. putneyfarm June 12, 2012 at 8:38 am Reply

    Looks great- and we do need now things to do w/ our strawberries…

    • Shiny Tomato June 12, 2012 at 11:11 am Reply

      Thanks, always looking for new inspiration 🙂

  3. Anonymous June 13, 2012 at 4:36 pm Reply

    I agree with Dave re: Dairy Queen sundae topping — the Best Leslie brought 2 giant tubs of Strawberries today !!! YEAH !!!!!!

    • Shiny Tomato June 13, 2012 at 9:48 pm Reply

      I can tell this is Wayne! I want to make a banana split with grilled bananas, roasted strawberries and grilled pineapple. Dairy Queen will have nothing on that!

Leave a tasty comment

