Kale Pesto with Almonds

It occurred to me recently that kale would be a great base for pesto. This idea also occurred to numerous other people as there were tonnes of recipes for kale pesto online. I’m a little slow to the kale game. Always trying to use up what I have on hand, I followed my general rule of thumb in terms of proportions for pesto. I wasn’t disappointed. It’s a bit ‘earthier’ than regular basil pesto and just as delicious. I’ve been schmearing it on sandwiches, bagels and veggie burgers, tossing it in cold pasta salads, and even formed my first quenelle out of it. The quenelle was placed top of my Ratatouille Rigatoni (recipe to come) and it added a bright burst of flavour.  In addition to its healthy benefits, it adds another layer of flavour to any dish. I’ll be keeping this recipe on deck. -bvox

Kale Pesto with Almonds
1/4 cup toasted almonds
2 garlic cloves
2 cups kale leaves
Any other herbs or greens you have on hand and want to use up (I added some basil, mint, rosemary)
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1/8 cup olive oil (more if desired)
1-2 tbsp lemon juice
Pinch of red chili flakes
Salt and pepper to taste

Whizz the almonds and garlic together in a blender or food processor. Add greens and cheese and whizz again. Slowly stream the oil in while mixing on a low speed. Add lemon, chili flakes, salt and pepper and adjust seasonings to taste.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Kale Pesto with Almonds

  1. Steph McVox June 18, 2012 at 8:22 am Reply

    I dub thee Queen of Kale!

Leave a tasty comment

