Dark and Stormy Cocktail

20120625-154006.jpg
A couple months ago, I had a Dark and Stormy cocktail at Taste Restaurant. Actually, I had two because the first one was so good. It was really refreshing on a warm evening. Oh yah, and the food is great there too but I kept thinking about that cocktail and I have been ordering them in different establishments ever since. So far, I haven’t found one that lived up to Taste’s so it was time to recreate my own. (BTW, if you request one from a bartender who has never heard of it, don’t try to talk him through it, just order something else in a can.) Well, I did some homework and apparently the Dark and Stormy cocktail has nautical roots and is the national drink of Bermuda. A true Dark N’ Stormy® is made with Gosling’s Black Seal rum and Gosling’s ginger beer. It is even patented by Gosling’s. Now that is taking a drink seriously.

I tried making my own version of a Dark and Stormy on the weekend but I live in landlocked Calgary with no access to Gosling’s. I happened upon some The Kraken black spiced rum and used a better quality ginger ale (Shhh, don’t tell the Bermudans). I added some pieces of ginger root to kick it up a notch. Some recipes call for lime and some think it is sacrilegious to add lime but I try to avoid scurvy at all costs, so in went the lime and a splash of bitters for good measure. -Steph McVox

Dark and Stormy
· 1 oz. black or dark spiced rum
· 1 slice of ginger root
· 2 lime wedges
· Ginger Beer or good quality ginger ale if you are in a pinch
· Splash of bitters (optional)

Add rum, ginger slice and squeeze the lime wedges to into a glass. Add 3-4 oz of ginger beer/ale and a splash of bitters if using. Stir and add the pre-squeezed lime wedges to the glass. Taste and adjust if too strong/weak.

I am adding it to my summer drink list! Sangria and Pimm’s cup, it is time to move over and make room for the Dark and Stormy.

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Dark and Stormy Cocktail

  1. Shiny Tomato June 25, 2012 at 8:53 pm Reply

    Can you make one for me when I come home?

    • Steph McVox June 26, 2012 at 8:45 am Reply

      Yup, I have some artisan ciders waiting for you too!

  2. eener June 26, 2012 at 1:49 am Reply

    I am ALL over this beverage. Good one, Snuffs!!

  3. Joseph Tkach July 2, 2012 at 1:30 pm Reply

    Good call on the extra ginger slice. I find that even the best ginger beers lack the spicy punch of fresh ginger, and I personally like my Dark n’ Stormys to burn a litte bit. Also, Goslings is swill. It’s a sure sign of an inferior product that the company making it tries to use the law to force people to drink it.

    • Shiny Tomato July 4, 2012 at 9:52 pm Reply

      I agree, they should burn! Good point on the Goslings 🙂

Leave a tasty comment

