Apple Cranberry Chutney

I kept bringing apples home this Fall, not able to resist them. My fruit crisper and fruit bowls were full of them. I now declare them my favourite fruit. This realization/declaration has come late in life to me. I eat about one a day and love them with cheese.

I’ve never made chutney before, although I adore it. Steph McVox is the chutney-maker in the family and when I asked her what to do with my surplus of apples she suggested I make chutney and follow her recipe. I did! Her recipe is so good and easy to follow. I added some BC cranberries and the sweet apples and tart cranberries love each other. It has the right amount of savoury, sweetness and spice. I didn’t process the chutney as Steph does and it lasts for about three weeks refrigerated. It’s really nice with a sharp cheddar, on crackers or nestled between melted cheese in a sandwich. -bvox

Apple Cranberry Chutney
Adapted from Steph McVox

  • 1-2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated fresh ginger
  • 3 cups apple, peeled and cut ½ “ pieces
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries (frozen would work)
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine, such as Sauvignon Blanc
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tsp Quatre Épices, or a combination of baking spices (nutmeg, allspice, cardamom, ginger)
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chili flakes

1. Heat oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Cook onion, garlic, ginger, salt and pepper until onion is translucent, about 5 minutes.

2. Add everything else and bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer for about half an hour or until mixture thickens. Remove cinnamon stick if using.

3. Ladle into hot, clean 125 ml/4 oz. canning jars, leaving ¼” headspace. Wipe jar rims with hot clean, wet cloth; place lids on and fasten to fingertip tight. Process jars in a boiling-water canner for 15 minutes (at Calgary altitude). Remove jars from canner; cool on racks and listen for the “pops” the jars should make when the air leaves and the seal is complete (you should see the round part in the middle of the lid is “sucked” down). Store in dark cool place for up to a year. Makes 4-5 ½ cup or 125 ml jars.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a tasty comment

