Watermelon Cucumber Feta Salad with Mint

Cucumber watermelon salad

I’ve been making this cucumber and watermelon salad a lot lately. The watermelon really likes the salty feta cheese and I can eat a whole bowl of it. This isn’t a combination I would have thought I’d like until I tried watermelon and rollkuchen, a salty Mennonite pastry (pic below). Mennonite’s know their food and I’m not sure who first thought of eating the sweet watermelon and salty rollkuchen together, but it’s something I look forward to when we visit Manitoba in the summer. There are a lot of variations of watermelon and feta salad out there, such as adding tomatoes, basil or black olives, but this is my version. The cucumber and mint rounds out this simple, refreshing summer salad perfectly. -bvox

Watermelon Cucumber Feta Salad with Mint

  • 2 cups watermelon, medium diced
  • 2 cups cucumber, thickly sliced
  • 1 cup of feta cheese, small diced (I use goat feta)
  • 1/4 cup mint, chopped
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • Freshly ground black pepper (to taste)
  • Sea salt, just a small pinch

Combine all ingredients together and serve immediately. Tip: to make in advance, put the watermelon, cucumber, feta and mint in a bowl and refrigerate. When ready to eat, add the other ingredients.
rollkuchen

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Watermelon Cucumber Feta Salad with Mint

  1. cjnewsome July 6, 2013 at 4:43 pm Reply
  2. Steph McVox July 8, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

    Summer in a bowl!

  3. salty girl July 8, 2013 at 12:01 pm Reply

    Yum! Must try this! I’ve tried a Nigella recipe that was similar. I’ll have to compare the two and see what’s different. I don’t think she has cucumber in hers.

Leave a tasty comment

