Cate’s Butter Tarts

Butter TartNow that it’s December I have Christmas on the brain. I’m excited to be in Calgary this year. I’m excited to bake with my mom, aunt, and sister. And I’m excited to indulge! This leads me to Cate’s butter tarts (pictured). Aside from Cate’s butter tarts, I usually don’t reach for them. I’m more of a shortbread kind of girl. But these butter tarts. These butter tarts are the perfect balance of sweet, salty richness. Hubby asked me the other day “will Cate be making those butter tarts at Christmas?” He loves them too (even though they have raisins!) and I’m sure Cate could be convinced. Stay tuned for a post on Cate’s Mincemeat tarts. I reach for those. -bvox

Cate’s Butter Tarts

Cream together thoroughly:

  • ¼ c butter
  • ½ c brown sugar

Add:

  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ c corn syrup
  • 1 beaten egg
  • ½ tsp. Lincoln Drive vanilla
  • Few drops of lemon juice
  • Enough raisins to put in the bottom of 12 tarts shells
    (if you like lots use lots or not so many… same)

Put raisins in tart shells, spoon mixture into tart shells
Don’t let mixture boil. Bake at 375 F for 18 minutes or til shells are golden.

These are also great at teas parties!

Tea Party Sweets

 

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Cate’s Butter Tarts

  1. simplydelish December 2, 2013 at 3:56 pm Reply

    These look pretty unique, I’ve got to say, the name definitely drew me in!

  2. Shiny Tomato December 2, 2013 at 4:05 pm Reply

    Stay tuned for Cate’s mince meat tarts – the only mince meat tarts I will eat!

  3. catherinecuisine December 2, 2013 at 7:43 pm Reply

    yummy!

  4. everybodylovespretty December 3, 2013 at 8:12 am Reply

    eeeeek! I LOVE butter tarts!

Leave a tasty comment

