Beet Risotto

Beet RisottoWhy have I never made risotto before? It’s ludicrous really, because it’s so easy to make and so delicious. I had some roasted beets that I wanted to use up so I did a search on the good ol’ web. Beet Risotto came up and I had all of the ingredients on hand, particularly some arborio rice that I should really use up. The good folks at Canadian Living didn’t fail me (yet again!) and this recipe is a keeper. The addition of fresh thyme is the kicker. It goes well with the sweetness of the beets and the nuttiness of the parmesan cheese. This is just the start for me and with summer coming I want to make some spring vegetable risottos. What’s your favourite risotto? -bvox

Beet Risotto
Source: Canadian Living

4 cups veggie stock
2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup finely chopped shallots
1-1/3 cups short grain rice, such as arborio
1/4 cup dry white vermouth or dry white wine (I used vermouth)
1 tbsp fresh thyme
1-1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 tbsp butter
4 beets

Wrap beets in foil; roast in 350°F oven until tender, about 1 hour. Peel and chop into 1/4-inch cubes to make 3 cups; set aside.

In saucepan, bring stock to boil; reduce heat to low and keep warm.

In large deep skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat; sauté shallots until softened and translucent, about 3 minutes. Add rice, stirring to coat and toast grains, about 2 minutes. Stir in vermouth until absorbed.

Now, have a glass of wine ready as you’ll be near the stove stirring and it’s a good excuse.

Add stock, 1/2 cup at a time and stirring after each addition until most of the liquid is absorbed before adding more, about 20 minutes total. Add beets, thyme, salt and pepper. Taste before adding last 1/2 cup; rice should be loose, creamy but not mushy, and still slightly firm in centre of grain.

Remove from heat. Stir in Romano cheese and butter; let stand for 2 minutes before serving. Sprinkle with more Parmesan and fresh thyme.

beet risotto

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Beet Risotto

  1. Amanda April 14, 2014 at 11:27 am Reply

    Yum! I know what you mean about risotto! I rarely make it, but it’s so good. Love beets too!

    • Shiny Tomato April 14, 2014 at 1:17 pm Reply

      I know! I’ve done cheater versions but they’re never as good.

  2. Steph McVox April 14, 2014 at 1:10 pm Reply

    So, so pretty! My fave risotto has butternut squash in it but maybe this will be my new favourite when I try it!

  3. adanelz6 April 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm Reply

    I love risotto – the perfect vegetarian meal! I made a beat and kale risotto for the holidays and it was a huge hit! Especially the color 🙂

  4. adanelz6 April 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm Reply

    I love risotto – the perfect vegetarian meal! I made a beat and kale risotto for the holidays and it was a huge hit! Especially the color 🙂

Leave a tasty comment

