Cheesy Corn Muffins

2015/01/img_0568.jpgThese corn muffins are the result of pantry cleaning day in my household. My pre-Christmas baking intentions were overly ambitious; I have two bags of flour and a rather large container of sugar leftover. And I found the cornmeal I thought I had but couldn’t find – after I bought more. I also had a surplus of eggs and some buttermilk. This was all starting to add up. Cornbread! Except that I felt like bundling it up into muffins. I reached for the good ‘ol Moosewood Cookbook and decided to use Molly’s recipe (we’re not on a first name basis but she feels like an old friend). This recipe didn’t disappoint. I followed the recipe and added 1 cup of sharp cheddar to the batter (makes 12). They stayed nice and moist for a couple days. I had them for breakfast, warm out of the oven with melty butter and drizzled honey – and they also went down well with the chili I made for dinner. The recipe in its original glory is below! -bvox

2015/01/img_0572.gif

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Corn Muffins

  1. Steph McVox January 26, 2015 at 6:22 am Reply

    The good ol’ Moosewood sums it up perfectly! I thank Sheila V. for introducing that book to me!

Leave a tasty comment

