Frozen Chocolate Banana Pops

Frozen. Chocolate. Banana. Pops! I wanted to call these ‘Nutty Monkeys” but that didn’t fly with hubby. These are one my favourite treats and flavour combos. The first time I had these was at Disneyland back in the 80s, which I’ve already raved madly about. It only occurred to me recently that I didn’t need to go to there to have them; I can make them at home, easily, and with ingredients I usually have in my pantry. I’m fussy about the ripeness of bananas and won’t eat them once they start to brown. This is the point I usually cut them up and freeze them for smoothies or “banana ice cream“. They are a healthy yet decadent treat and a small bite — a pop — is all that’s needed. -bvox

Frozen Chocolate Banana Pops

Insert skewers or popsicle sticks into bite size pieces of banana and freeze them for a couple of hours.

Roast peanuts in a 300 degree F oven until light golden. You’ll smell them when it’s time for them to come out. Cool and chop into small pieces. Put in shallow bowl.

Line a cookie sheet with wax or parchment paper.

Melt semi-sweet chocolate (chips or bars cut up) in a double boiler or using the microwave method (in glass bowl, stir every 30 seconds for a minute or two). Stir until smooth.

Working quickly, dunk bananas in the melted chocolate and roll in the chopped peanuts.

Place on the cookie sheet and freeze for a few hours. Remove and place in an airtight container and store in the freezer until you’re ready to devour them. XXOO.

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Frozen Chocolate Banana Pops

  1. Ema Jones May 21, 2015 at 9:13 pm Reply

    Kids are gonna love this crazy yummzz 🙂

  2. Steph McVox May 22, 2015 at 8:00 am Reply

    I wish my little monkeys liked bananas…oh well, more for me!

Leave a tasty comment

