Skillet Granola

skilletgranola

When hubby recently asked me to make some granola, I didn’t have it in me to make the ‘slow bake’ and ‘stir every 10 minutes’ kind. I had seen recipes for skillet granola and thought I would try that instead. So happy I did! Making granola in a skillet couldn’t be any easier; this batch took me less than 10 minutes to make. I simply tossed everything in the skillet and voila. This recipe is vegan and it can be adapted, naturally. If you like a buttery taste, you can sub the coconut oil for butter and the maple syrup for honey. Shredded coconut and sesame seeds are also good in this granola! -bvox

Skillet Granola

  • 1 ½ cups old-fashioned (large flake) oats
  • ¾ cup chopped almonds
  • ¼ cup pepita (pumpkin) seeds
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • a pinch of salt (I used Steph McVox’s vanilla sea salt)
  • ½ cup of dried cranberries

Heat coconut oil and maple syrup in a 12-inch skillet over medium heat and stir until melted together. Stir in nuts and cook, stirring, until golden, 2 to 3 minutes. Add oats, cinnamon, and salt and cook, stirring, until golden brown, another 3 to 4 minutes. Set aside to cool and stir in cranberries.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a tasty comment

