Warm Kale Salad with Lemon Parmesan Dressing


No one needs to tell me twice to eat my Brussels sprouts. Even as a kid I liked them. I first tried this incredible salad at the Oakwood Canadian Bistro in Vancouver, BC. They change their menu seasonally and this precious salad is off the menu. So, I set out to recreate my own version. The addition of the crispy french fried onions is a must. This salad begs for it. If you don’t have a deep fryer like me, you can use canned French’s. They are super good. It involves a bit of prep, but the effort is entirely worth the rich lemony goodness of this salad. Meat lovers would like the addition of crumbled bacon on top. -bvox

Warm Kale Salad with Lemon Parmesan Dressing
with Broccoli, Cauliflower and Brussels Sprouts

Brussels sprouts (2 cups)
Cauliflower (1/2 head)
Kale (1 bunch)
Broccoli (1 head)
Olive oil, salt and pepper (for roasting)
Crispy french fried onions for garnish

Lemon Parmesan Dressing
1 lemon, juice and zest
8 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
Splash white wine vinegar
1 tsp maple syrup
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese (plus more for garnish)
Sea salt and pepper to taste
Whisk all ingredients together until the mixture emulsifies.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Cut broccoli and cauliflower into bite size pieces, about the same size (1-2 inches). Remove the outer leaves of Brussels sprouts, cut off the ends, slice in half. Remove stem of kale and tear into bite size pieces. Blanch Brussels sprouts in a pot of boiling salted water for one minute (then place in cold water bath).

Spread cauliflower, broccoli, and Brussels sprouts out on two baking sheets. Toss with 2-3 Tbsp olive oil, salt & pepper. Roast for 10 min, then stir for even browning. At this point add the kale to roast with the other vegetables. Roast for another 10 min (depending on your oven) until crispy and golden.

Add the roasted brassicas to a large bowl and toss with the dressing. Serve on plates or in a large bowl, family style. Be sure to add the garnish of crispy onions though.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Warm Kale Salad with Lemon Parmesan Dressing

  1. Fudging Ahead July 1, 2012 at 10:01 pm Reply

    Looks good! I wish I could get my husband to eat brussels sprouts and kale. He won’t, even roasted with bacon! 🙂

    • Shiny Tomato July 1, 2012 at 11:17 pm Reply

      Mine isn’t a fan either, but he ate it!

  2. condofire July 29, 2012 at 4:46 pm Reply

    This looks fabulous! I’m addicted to your Kale/Chickpea salad. No kale is safe around me:))

  3. Lori March 1, 2013 at 5:37 pm Reply

    So how does this one compare to the Oakwood’s, particularly the dressing? I loved this salad there and was searching for a similar one when I came across your page. Btw, it’s back on their menu!

    • Shiny Tomato March 2, 2013 at 11:48 am Reply

      I tried to replicate it but it’s not the same for sure! I haven’t had the Oakwood’s salad for awhile and should go before it’s off the menu.

  4. Anonymous September 25, 2013 at 7:38 pm Reply

    I made mine without broccoli and tastes very close to the one at Oakwoods. I even made a vegan version, substituted nutritional yeast for the parmesan. YUMMY!

  5. Josh November 27, 2013 at 4:28 pm Reply

    I just came looking for this salad because of the one we tried at Oakwood on our honeymoon! Thanks for the assist! Looking forward to serving it on Thanksgiving!

  6. Shiny Tomato December 2, 2013 at 4:13 pm Reply

    Hi Josh, how did it turn out?

  7. Sheila August 6, 2014 at 7:47 pm Reply

    Can’t wait to try it Bon…we have tons of kale in the garden this year.

  8. Anonymous October 7, 2014 at 11:10 am Reply

    I can’t wait to make this for our family and friends. How many servings will I get from this recipe?

  9. Anonymous February 27, 2016 at 7:14 pm Reply

    My family and I love this recipe. We had it at the Oakwood in the fall, and since then, we have made it many times as a stand alone supper. Even my 7 and 9 year old daughters love this salad (and have begun helping me make it. It isn’t the same as the Oakwood’s, but it’s still a fantastic recipe, and kudos to you for coming so close!

    • Shiny Tomato June 1, 2016 at 3:27 pm Reply

      Let me know if you have any tips to make it better or more authentic!

  10. […] The Oakwood: Warm Kale Salad – If we ate nothing else at Oakwood, we’d be happy (but it’d be a damn shame, we love the whole menu.) Kale, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, buttermilk onions, lemon parm dressing. (Recipe Hack) […]

  11. Hilary September 11, 2016 at 6:09 pm Reply

    I can say with confidence that the Oakwood salad is my favorite salad of all time. I just made this for my family and it’s not the same as the Oakwood’s but still fantastic and much closer than my substandard attempt earlier this year. 😉 Thank you so much!!
    I made one small shortcut: I’m a bit lazy when it comes to blanching, so I preheated the oven to 450 instead of 425. Then I put the brussels sprouts in for 5 minutes before adding the cauliflower. Then I let the two roast for 15 more minutes before adding the kale in at the end for the last 5 minutes. (The brussels sprouts cooked for 25, the cauliflower for 20 and the kale for 5. I skipped the broccoli as I didn’t have any). They turned out perfectly.
    Can’t wait to serve it up!

  12. Anonymous December 17, 2021 at 3:40 pm Reply

    My partner recreated it too! So sad they shut down. We just found this post and he really likes your version of the sauce. We use black kale instead of green, shallots instead of onion, and leave out the broccoli. If you have it, smoked salt added to taste is also delicious.

Leave a tasty comment